Ambivalent Skeptic

December 14, 2010

There is what you Think, what you Know, and what you can Prove.

Filed under: Philosophy,Rules — Clint1911 @ 10:32 am

I must have about a dozen posts that are half finished waiting to published. The kicker is I hate it when people who should know better don’t do the research. Gun writers are notorious for this. One guy recently wrote how the slide cycled because, of all things, the gas pressure! Oh boy, so he basically stated that the 1911 is gas operated when it is clearly short-recoil operated. Being recoil operated the bullets forward momentum pushes the barrel/slide back due to Newton’s law about “equal and opposite reactions.” The gas pressure is irrelevant.

There I go getting off topic again!

Now as far as bad habits go, being a perfectionist is not the worst but still…

How much should I back up my conclusions or should I make statements with just a little background? After all, I can always do a second post if one aspect needs clarifying. What about numbers? Is the WAG method good enough” or should I hold my proverbial tongue

Look at my syntax. I don’t write “he said” I write “he stated.” I use “proverbial” when using a figure of speech. And I don’t “say” anything on the internet, I write it.

Ok, here is the deal. I have a good bit of knowledge and perspective on firearms. I my opinion, the biggest problem in the gun community is not the clashing of egos but that there is so much false data out there. Reagan said about liberals that their biggest problem was that so much of what they “knew” was flat out wrong. Personally, I think this problem is holding back a lot of people who are new to shooting and frustrating long time gun people.

So I wish to correct some popular misconceptions. But, well, there is NO value in being the guy who points out how everyone else is wrong.

Look at my Theodore Roosevelt quote, and my personal rules.

Being human, I’M going to be wrong.

There is what you Think, what you Know, and what you can Prove.

Too many people “think” they understand based on incomplete or incorrect information. I myself, have had to revise several ideas lately due to a wealth of new knowledge.

Do you know that many people still believe the FBI dropped the 10mm due to recoil? This despite the fact that the current 40S&W ammo has more recoil than the issued 10mm load. How can this be? Simple, they just do not know that the “FBI lite” loading for the 10mm predates the guns by about two years. Yep, that’s right. The FBI never issued full house 10mm loads. And why should they, the “lite” loads maxed out the IWBA tests.

(You may notice that in the above paragraph, I wrote “about two years.” Should I be more exact, or are I going the route of the stupid gunwriters who spread rumors as fact? Of course with all my files at home and no personal internet at work, such an absolutist stance would seriously cramp my blogging time.)

So where is the line where I should share my bounty of knowledge? Should I share what I “know” or only that which I can “prove”? The reasonable approach is to work with what I Know often and work with the Proof when it is truly needed.

Something I just thought about. Clint Eastwood, when playing Dirty Harry, had mostly good gun handling. He showed the 44 magnum as the powerfully recoiling weapon it is. However he also had a grip on the gun that was not really appropriate so such a gun. But that almost incorrect grip is what allowed the actor to show the recoil so well. You see, he deliberately did a small part wrong in order to do the rest right.

Maybe I should be cool with that? Maybe I should allow myself to be wrong (inadvertently, of course) so that I can A) share more facts and B) learn more in the process. If I never share an incorrect view, I can never be corrected on it.

I’ll just have to deal with the unfortunate ones who wish to correct me when I am right. That is where the Proof elements can come into play.

There is an old Appalachian saying:

It’s not what you don’t know that makes you a fool, it’s what you do know that’s wrong.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

