Ambivalent Skeptic

November 12, 2010

Northcoast Blogmeet recap

Filed under: Shooting — Clint1911 @ 2:23 pm

Well, it has been over a month, but I finally got around to editing the photos from the blogmeet Breda was so kind to host for Jay G.  I was honored to attend as well as a little nervous about meeting people who have been sharing their lives and thoughts with me.  I didn’t want to seem presumptuous and bring too many guns and act like I was boasting “LOOK WHAT I’VE GOT.”  So instead I came and felt undergunned.  But at least I didn’t look like a jerk.  (However, there was one time Breda looked at me and I couldn’t tell if she was amused or…. not.)

First up, we had a pretty good crowd.

In the past, when I went to various gatherings, it was mostly a big barbecue with lots of standing around talking with a little shooting on the side.  Not this blogmeet!  We were shooting all day.  All with that came…

AMMO! Lots and lots of AMMO.

And of course people brought so much nice hardware…

…for everyone to share.

Here is Jay G. with a Canadian Hi-Power with grandfathered shoulder stock.

Now for the obligatory cuteness

How often do you see a Star 1911 clone up close and personal like this. Sadly, I forgot to shoot it.

With enough time, handguns can seriously work over a steel plate.

And here is Mike in a rare view of taking our only captive of the day.

Then we moved back to 100 yards for RIFLES!
Everyone was eager to share and willing to show off.

Family members got involved.

The highlight of the day for me was shooting a Savage 99 in 300 Savage. I’ve read so much about this gun and now I finally shot one. I was so impressed with the rifle that I neglected to take a good photo of it. But here’s a good shot of the ammo and scope.

I forget who, but someone brought a SEMI-auto crew severed 308.

Here is Breda shooting the gun the “fun” way.

And her husband shooting it the “military” way.

Having fired a few rounds from the prone myself I can say that you miss a good part of the experience. The recoil kicks the gun up enough that you can not see where the bullets impact. However, shooting from the sitting position tends to have one put the rounds in the dirt halfway to the target.

Here’s another pic of Breda at the not-a-machine-gun with an audience.

And here is Breda with here new friend.

And at the end of the day (literally, we only stopped because it was too dark to shoot) we all packed up and headed over to the food.

This is ONE vehicle (of many) at the blogmeet. This was the average amount of “stuff” for one or two people I met that day.

And can’t wait to meet again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.